Skip to content

granola.

October 27, 2009

DSC_0284

Ok, so I know I mentioned something about granola about a week ago and I’m so sorry to keep everyone in suspense! I found this recipe via Google search (didn’t have any cook books on hand so I utilized my resources) and it turned out amazingly.  I’ve never made home made granola before but after stopping in this little town called Field, British Columbia and having THE ULTIMATE GRANOLA at a restaurant called Chercher la Vache I was determined to make my own. If you ever get the chance, this restaurant is highly recommended by the both of us, it had a cool funky atmosphere and bitchin good food.  Check them out at http://www.chercherlavachecafe.com.  Or hey, if you’re located around Banff or Yoho, give it a try, we went there twice and I had the best sandwich of my life.  I don’t even like sandwiches very much.

Anyways, back to the granola love.  This recipe was adapted from Mark Bittman of the New York Times, and boy is it a keeper.

For this granola, I chose our favorites- lots of cashews, pecans and almonds but many people also like to add in some different types of seeds and other nuts. Throw in your favorites and make this handy snack your own!  You can also add in raisins once the oats have finished baking.

Ingredients

6 c rolled oats
2 c mixed nuts/seeds (any you prefer)
1 tsp ground cinnamon
dash of fresh ground nutmeg
dash of salt
1/2 c real maple syrup

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees

1.  In a bowl, combine oats, nuts and seeds, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and maple syrup.
2. Place on a sheet pan and put in oven.
3. Bake for 30-40 minutes while stirring every 10 or so.  Try to get it nice and browned and don’t be afraid of a few burnt pieces.
4. Let cool on the baking sheets, then transfer to a sealable container.

Enjoy with some plain yogurt drizzled with maple syrup and some fresh fruit! We used apples, they’re perfectly delicious and add a nice texture to your snack.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

