Skip to content

Olive Oil Orange Cake

January 29, 2010

Are you craving cake? Welcome to my life.  Or maybe it’s just all desserts in general…  When I was younger (heck I still do sometimes) I used to always be the kid who wanted all dessert options.  Of course, it was easiest to achieve at my grandma’s house when she would bake us 2 types of pies, brownies, ice cream and berries, and of course, i would ask for a small piece of each one.  However, i also know that I was not the only one as I saw a certain someone do it this thanksgiving.  It’s hard to resist, I know, trust me.

This is a bit different though, as soon as you taste it, you won’t want pies or brownies or tarts to get that ‘full dessert spectrum’, I almost guarantee you’ll end up being happy with a piece of this beauty.

This cake though? So moist, so good, so, so, so perfect for dessert after some stout rosemary beef stew.  I suggest giving it a try if you’re looking for a hint of sunshine on a bitterly cold winter day.  So without further adieu,

Olive Oil Orange Cake
Adapted from Anna Olson’s show, Sugar

Ingredients
2 eggs
1 c sugar
3/4 c olive oil
3/4 c milk
zest of 2 oranges/tangerines
1 c + 2 tbs all purpose goodness (flour)
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
dash of salt

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 and butter AND flour a 9″ cake pan (see below)
1. Whisk eggs and sugar in a large bowl, then add olive oil, milk and orange zest
2. In a separate bowl, sift flour, baking powder, soda and salt.  Add to large bowl of wet ingredients (it’ll be a little runny but that’s fine)
3. Pour into cake pan and you’re ready to throw ‘er in the oven for about 40 minutes
4. Dust with icing sugar, enjoy!

I have a confession.  When I butter pans, I don’t use enough butter as I should (apparently).  Be sure to grease and flour your pan so the whole thing is covered.  I didn’t use enough butter and look what happened. But that’s okay (: I’ve learned.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 11:02 pm

    Good stuff and good effort! Next time, try using olive oil on the pan — and plenty of it — and skip the butter! It’s clear you’re passionate about what you do. Thanks for sharing.

  2. mcaules24 permalink*
    January 30, 2010 7:42 pm

    Thanks for letting me know, I’ll have to give that a shot next time!

  3. January 30, 2010 11:09 pm

    This sounds so good!

    Ooh and nice tip Roger. Makes sense, if you’re using olive oil in the cake, just use it on the pan too.

  4. Graham permalink
    February 22, 2010 12:36 pm

    while on the topic of olive oil orange cake, I made this one the other day. A bit of planning is required for the boiled citrus, but after that, the cake is very easy to assemble, and well worth the effort.

    http://orangette.blogspot.com/2010/02/we-ate-this-cake.html

  5. Sophie (and her mother) permalink
    April 26, 2010 6:35 pm

    Geoff, we loved this cake. I’m petitioning Karen to make it. Cheers!!

  6. Sophie (and her mother) permalink
    May 3, 2010 4:40 pm

    I made this last night for a dinner party and it was a real hit. Kirk loved it and now I think I will get a break from making the same cake he has always requested in the past! Move over Dark Chocolate Torte, here comes Olive Oil Orange cake. I served it with sliced strawberries, and sliced tangerines in a syrup of Grand Marnier, a little vanilla and a little sugar. I also put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the plate.

Leave a Reply

