Skip to content

homemade goodness

February 20, 2010

Ever had homemade pasta? Me neither.. well that was before last weekend.

Last weekend for a nice valentine’s day dinner, I decided to try my hand at being an Italian grand mother and creating my very own pasta.  I know it sounds crazy as I’m more than 75% British but for a wanna-be, I didn’t do half bad!  I’ll also be the first to admit that a lot of the time, I don’t even know that some things can be hand-made.  Like marshmallows, who ever thought that marshmallows could be home made? And sponge toffee? I think that will be my next project 😉

But back to pasta, fresh pasta really makes a great difference and the best part is you can put it in your fridge for tomorrow, freezer for next week or in your pantry for next year! That home made taste is unbeatable and works well with any sauce you’re up for.  Now you know I’m all for the healthiness of whole wheat and fiber but in this recipe, I decided to stick with plain all purpose flour because, yea, I was a little scared it wouldn’t turn out and turn me off whole wheat stuff.  Plus G doesn’t like whole wheat pasta so that was a good excuse too. But hey! try it out if you want, maybe half and half? Let me know how it works out because I will definitely be making this recipe again.  It’s easy and surprisingly quick too! I was intimidated, i left 3 1/2 hours to make this and it took a third of that time.  I promise, no lie.

Another great thing is that you make it once and you have a few more servings left!  I grabbed this recipe from joy because, I pretty much trust her with my life even though I’ve never met her.  Yea, that’s right.  She got it from Mario Batall.

Ingredient
5 cups all-purpose flour (or bread flour)
6 extra-large eggs (I think I just used large)
3/4 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil
dash of salt

Directions
Making the pasta dough

1. Set 5 cups of flour out on a large flat surface and make a 6 inch round well in it that goes right down to the counter. Build up the edges so that you have a nice round circular mountain ridge. Should be about 2 inches high. Crack the 6 eggs in there along with the olive oil
2. Beat eggs and oil together with a fork and keep beating, slowly bringing the flour into the mix until about 2/3 of the flour is gone. You should have a sticky, knead-able mass
3. Flour you hand and start kneading your dough ball while still slowly incorporating enough flour that the dough doesn’t stick to your hands
4. Once your dough is the right consistency, set it aside on the counter and discard the flour left over on the counter top.  Re-flour your workspace with the 1 cup that is left over and knead the dough more until it is elastic and smooth (about 5 minutes)
5. Dust the dough ball in flour and wrap it in plastic wrap.  Leave it on the counter top to sit and ‘rest’ for half an hour
Rolling out the pasta
1. Dust your counter with flour and unwrap your dough from the plastic wrap.  Cut the amount of dough in half so it’s easy to work with and re-wrap the other half
2. Start rolling out the dough with a rolling pin evenly, moving the dough often.  If you find it’s sticking, flour your pin, counter and/or dough until it doesn’t anymore
3. Roll you dough thin. I made sure I could see the grooves in my counter top before I set out to cutting so it should end up looking transparent
4. Next step, cut your dough! I don’t have a pasta maker so I used a pizza cutter and hoped I cut straight, ehich I didn’t so my fettuccine pasta had some spaghetti in it along with some pappadelle in there.  Cover it up and start working on the other half of the dough
5. Once you have lots of cut pasta, you can either cook it right away, dry it for an hour or so to have fresh pasta (like they sell in the coolers at the grocery store) by hanging it out over chairs or on tea towels.  You can also dry it for longer than that to get completely dried pasta, it’s all up to you!
6. When you’re ready, throw ‘er in a big pot of salty, boiling water and cook until tender!

One Comment leave one →
  1. stephano thee italian man permalink
    February 20, 2010 9:58 pm

    cooooooooooooolllllllllllll

Leave a Reply

