Skip to content

triple chocolate brownies

April 2, 2010

Yes. That’s right. Triple chocolate means triple deliciousness.

You know I’m right. Well, maybe not but this recipe is pretty… well pretty chocolaty (aka delicious).

So this brownie recipe is pretty rich.  With almost twice as much chocolate as butter, it rocks.  Its got that cracked top and some wicked chocolate in it.  I used to live off of my grandmas brownies which are more of a cake-y brownie rather than a rich, uber chocolaty one.  Do you catch my drift? I hope so…

Anyways, yes so these brownies were a change for me but I think I’m converted.  They taste great and its a real easy clean up which is kinda nice.

This recipe was brought to my attention by Geoff.  He had heard that this was the recipe of his favorite brownie sold at a restaurant in Toronto. Naturally I tried to recreate them and win over the title of best brownie maker ever.  Unfortunately I have a tendency to over mix things like pancake batter, brownie mix and cake batter which sometimes results in a less light, more dense dessert.  All the air in the mix is released when it’s over stirred which is what happened this time (again).  I’m working on it though guys, don’t you worry.  That wasn’t the only problem with these little guys though… I also seem to sometimes over cook stuff? Like chicken and baked goods. So that was a slight downer HOWEVER, even with all of these little faults these brownies were delicious.  Do you know what that means? I think they’re foolproof. If you can believe that.

I found the recipe on epicurious which says the recipe was featured in Gourmet in September of 1996.

Ingredients
6 oz. high quality bittersweet chocolate, chopped
2 oz. unsweetened chocolate, chopped
3/4 cup of butter (I used 6 tbs and that was plenty… I would recommend it)
1 1/2 c sugar
2 tsp vanilla
4 eggs
1 tsp salt
1 c flour
1 c semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used ghirardelli 60%)

Directions
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and butter a 9×13 pan and set aside
2. Place the butter, unsweetened and bittersweet chocolate in a metal bowl resting on a pot of simmering water and stir until melted and smooth
3. Remove from heat and let cool until lukewarm
4. Stir in the sugar and vanilla, then add the eggs one at a time, mixing well between each addition
5. Add salt and flour and stir until it is just barely mixed
6. Stir in the chocolate chips and pour into the prepared pan
7. Pop in the over and wait about 25-30 minutes until your creation is finished baking!
8. Cut eat and enjoy when cool (it’s a long wait, trust me)

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 4:27 pm

    Nothing better than a good rich chocolate brownie. May have to make these this weekend.

Leave a Reply

