Skip to content

More Madeleines! (Julia Child Style)

April 29, 2010

Hello hello hello, sorry I haven’t seen you in so long.  G’s feeling a bit under the weather these days and I was buried under text books this past month. Want to see something cool that we did way back in March though?

Yea, you guessed it. We went to a Maple Syrup Festival!
Pretty cool stuff, and hard to believe considering we did this last month and now I’m sitting in my backyard in shorts.
We ate pancakes, took some pics, you knoww.

What else have we been up to? Wellll, Geoff’s been working hard at Detour, and I have been thinking about renting a fish-eye lens for a day or so. I think they’re cool, looks like the picture was taken through some bubble or something.  Some more good news (other than we’re back in the blogosphere) is that I have moved home for the summer! Wooooo. Lots of barbecues and sweets will be coming your way.

I guess that’s about it.  My lifes pretty boring personally.

So now, down to business! This morning was one of those mornings where you wake up happy because the sun is shining and warm and life just feels great.  So I poured myself a cup of tea and thought of how my last attempt to make madeleines didn’t go as well as I had hoped. Being the go-getter that I am, I decided to try a new recipe, new source, new everything.

Result? Success!
This time around, the madeleines were nicely hump-backed and a deep golden colour. Mmmmm browned butter.  I channeled my inner Julia Child, wrapped my apron around my waist and went at it.  This is her recipe (halved) from one of her cook books, The way to cook.

Ingredients
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2/3 c sugar
1 c + 1 tbs (not together) flour
1 1/4 sticks of unsalted butter (5 oz)
touch of salt
1/2 of one lemon’s zest
a few drops of lemon juice
a few drops of vanilla extract
icing sugar for sprinkling (and getting all over the counter, naturally)

Directions
1. Pour 1/4 cup of the eggs into a large bowl along with the sugar and cup of flour.  Blend with a fork until a sandy texture is reached.  Let rest for 10 minutes
2. Bring the butter to a boil and let it brown a touch.  Should smell nutty and delicious as the fat solids separate
3. Scoop out a tablespoon and a half of butter and throw it into a small bowl with the tablespoon of flour.  Mix and set aside
4. Cool the butter by embracing your inner chemist and preparing an ice water bath.  Stir the butter in the bath until it is cool, but still liquid (a bit of mine turned to solid, it’s no big deal, just scrape it with a spoon)
5. Blend the remaining eggs, butter, lemon (zest and juice), vanilla and salt into the initial mixture of flour, eggs and sugar.  Now preheat the over to 375
6. Prepare your madeleine pan(s) by painting the butter/flour mixture in each shell with a pastry brush
7. Scoop 1 tablespoon of batter into each shell and bake for 15 minutes or until the edges are golden and are pulling away from the pan
8. Once baked, remove your new treats from the pan and let cool on the counter.  Sprinkle with icing sugar and enjoy with a cup of tea of coffee… Or on their own, that works too

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

