Skip to content

iPhone BBQ papaya chicken

May 4, 2010
by

iPhone papaya BBQ chicken

For fun, and somewhat out of necessity I’ve decided to do this entire post on my phone. I looked up the recipe on it, used it as my camera, edited the photos and finally wrote and uploaded the post from it.

To fully enjoy a summers day I feel it necessary to barbeque (grill) and this past Sunday was the warmest day of the year. Considering this and the fact that Sarah and I slept in so late we hit the grocery store in search of BBQ supplies.

While browsing the aisles Sarah mentioned she wanted something fruity or citrusy which I was game for and when I saw the papayas I remembered seeing Roger Mooking do a BBQ papaya chicken dish so I looked the recipe up on my iPhone, we grabbed what we needed and headed home.

Now, I’ve never had papaya before but it looked delicious and sounded delicious but I was surprised at how amazing it looked when cut in half. Neither of us had a camera on us so I used my phone again. Less than optimal but absolutely better than nothing.

The recipe was straight forward and the results were great. Best of all we have buckets of the BBQ sauce left over to use again!

Marinade:
1/4 cup coconut milk
Seeds of 1 large papaya
1 clove garlic, diced
1 tablespoon ginger, microplaned
Zest and juice of 1 lime
2 tablespoons cilantro stems, chopped
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts

Papaya BBQ Sauce:
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 sweet onion, finely diced
3/4 cup sugar
1 chili, from the garden, halved
zest and juice of 1 lime
zest and juice of 1 lemon
1 cup water
1/2 cup white vinegar
5 cups papaya, large dice
2 teaspoons salt

To grill:
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1/4 cup Papaya BBQ sauce
1 tablespoon cilantro leaves, (optional garnish)

1: combine all marinade ingredients, add chicken and leave for 1 to 24 hours.

2: to start sauce, heat oil in a pot, add onions and cook until translucent.

3: add sugar, zest and chili, stir and let sugar dissolve.

4: add liquids, bring to a boil then add papaya. Simmer for 15mins then blend.

5: to grill chicken remove from marinade, oil preheated grill and cook on med high heat basting with papaya BBQ sauce

6: garnish with cilantro and something like a coconut rice would be nice

Cheers

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 6:10 pm

    Both the marinade and the sauce sound really good. I’ll have to give this one a try (and maybe do everything on my iPhone too!)

Leave a Reply

