Skip to content

Lemon Loaf

May 7, 2010

Lemon loaf is pretty good if you’re in one of those I want cake now but banana bread is too sweet type moods.  Or any other time you want a nice citrus dessert that is sweet and tart and moist all at the same time. The one that I chose to make a few days ago was stellar. Very good indeed and it was from one of the oldest cookbooks in my kitchen which just thrills me.

There’s something about looking in the index of a recipe book and finding exactly what you’re looking for.  Makes my heart dance a little when I see the heading I need.  It also makes me very sad when I don’t see the thing I want to make but I guess that’s a little bit of a different story.  The book I pulled this from is called the Good Housekeeping Illustrated Cookbook. Check it out, Ain’t that thing sweet? Anyway, back to what you came here to see.  The lemon cake that came out of this book way very delicious and kept for a few days in a Tupperware container.

Ingredients
1 lemon
2 1/4 c flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 c sugar
3/4 c unsalted butter (room temperature)
3 eggs
3/4 c milk
icing sugar

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 and grease a 9 x 5 loaf pan
2. Mix flour, baking powder, salt, sugar and the zest of the lemon in a large bowl and stir with a fork
3. Add butter and blend using a pastry cutter (two knives in a ‘scissor fashion’ work as well) until the mixture resembles course crumbs
4. In a small bowl, beat the eggs with a fork then add the milk and juice from half of the lemon
5. Pour the egg mixture into the crumb bowl and stir until just combined
6. Pour your patter into the prepared pan and be sure to push the mixture into the corners and up the sides so the cake cooks evenly (my mom taught me that one)
7. Bake for an hour and 15 minutes, remove pan when a toothpick comes out clean and place on a wire rack
8. Drizzle with icing while the cake is still hot*
9. Remove from pan and enjoy!

*to make icing, juice the other half of the lemon into a small bowl and slowly add icing sugar until the desired consistency is reached

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 6:09 pm

    I have that cookbook somewhere. I need to find it and cook something out of it!

Leave a Reply

