Skip to content

Capalanksy’s, Toronto

January 28, 2011
by

Unfortunately we forgot our poor baby, The Faraway Foodies. This is a draft that has been sitting here since May! We will post something more current shortly. Until then, check this place out.

As has been noted here many times, Sarah and I were traveling through Portland last summer. We stayed with the most wonderful couple Dan and Chris who were friends of Sarah’s uncle. Dan was busy working and as a student of engineering so Chris showed us around for the most part. She knew what it was like to be on the road for long periods of time (traveled around the world for a year non-stop, for starters) and was therefore a very hospitable guide.
Thankfully we were able to take Dan out for lunch one day as a thank you for letting us crash at his place, and actually get to know him a little. He suggested a deli, Kenny and Zukes.
Kenny & Zukes was very quickly my favorite sandwich spot. Long story short they do everything in house from their bagels and rye to the melt in your mouth pastrami. Out of bounds good.
Coincidently, shortly after getting home I read an article in Gourmet about delis and they hailed a new direction of delis, or rather doing it the good old way again. Well, with a modern spin on everything but a back to basics approach and they used Kenny & Zukes of Portland as an example. They also mentioned a Zane Capalansky who was doing smoked meat right with limited resources … in Toronto! This article was putting Capalansky in the same category as Kenny & Zukes who had obviously left a lasting impression on me. I was so excited! Why it took me this long to actually get there is beyond me but for the first time in a long time I had two days off and so I used the second day to field trip to Toronto for a smoked meat on rye. I wasn’t disappointed.
The meat is a gorgeous deep red that simultaneously bursts with flavour and just melts in your mouth. Something of this quality is hard to come by and the dedication it takes to prepare the meat properly every week is inspiring. Since my first visit I’ve been back again for the smoked meat sandwich and I’m sure I’ll be back again soon. The only thing I can complain about is the service, but it sounds like I’m not the only one. Don’t be surprised if it isn’t great but the food makes up for it.

Read the article I found so long ago here:  http://www.gourmet.com/restaurants/2009/09/zane-caplansky-deli

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

